Painting Update: My general theme and some models to boot!

Hi friends. So I have finally gotten a start on a few different categories of models. I’m going to roughly break down my scheme here, if you have any further questions I’m happy to give more details on colours choices. The basic idea is that it is a desert theme. I thought, what are the two most important things in the desert? The sand and the sky. So the two main colours are a red-yellow and a light blue. The light blue of the sky has more power, it’s where rain, sun, lightning, etc. comes from, so it is the “power” colour, in a sense (so druids will have more of it being the magic wielders, and magic runes will also use it). My bases will be bare, rocky with just the small scraggly scrubs you could expect in a desert. Problem is… I don’t have any small rocks or scrubs yet. So sadly these bases are undone. Oh well, that’s something for a future update 🙂

Druids: Light blue for cloaks/highlight areas, sand for leather and trinkets. I’ve gone with a dark skin tone for the human models.

-Note- While the Wayfarer is painted in this scheme, I am thinking of moving to grey cloth to give myself more contrast, and tie them into the Tharn better.

Wolds: I have followed (to the best of my meagre ability) the sandstone method explained by ghettokorestudios at ghettokorestudios.wordpress.com/tag/circle-orboros/. I cannot thank this person enough for their method, it is very accessible to a relatively inexperienced painter and gives (in my opinion) fantastic results. I used the blue from the army theme in the runes/grooves instead of the orange-red from this studio though.

Tharn: As they are more “natural” than other warriors, I’ve gone for a lot of the same stone colour on their clothes, as they’d use those to blend into the rocks and sand as they ambush and take hearts for the Wurm. Dark grey skin will provide a nice distinction from the humans. The models have blue hair (not sure if it is dyed or not yet), to tie them back into the overall theme.

-Note- This model is a WIP as I tested out colours, he is not yet complete I just wanted to give you folk an idea of where I was heading with something beyond just rocks and druids.

I still need to come up with a scheme for regular troops (like Reeves/Wolves of Orboros) and Warpwolves (Loki and Ghetorix are both primed, we’ll see how we go!). If you have any ideas on how to combine these colours for the models I don’t have a scheme for yet, do please tell me! So with that I’m eager to hear your feedback on what to improve/how to change things/techniques you think may work better than what you can see here.

Glory glory

Leave a comment